greenapple2012


17 yr Cicadas – The Bugs From Hell!
May 31, 2011, 5:32 am
Filed under: Backyard farming, Garden calendar, Photo Calendar | Tags:

This was a beautiful Memorial Day weekend and we were SO THANKFUL for the (finally) blue skies, warm weather, sunshine and breeze.  Things can start to dry out now.

The most notable thing going on outside here in Southern Missouri right now is the infestation of the 17-year cicada, the bugs from Hell!  They are big, ugly, noisy and EVERYWHERE here in the woods.  In fact, there is a constant noise in the air, sometimes deafening, of these noisy bugs.   From the time I get up in the morning (5:00 am) to drink my coffee and get ready for the day, to the time we go to sleep at night, all we can hear is this constant roar.

I snapped a photo of the bugs from hell as they sit on a pear tree here on our property.  The experts say they don’t do any damage, but 17 years ago, I had just planted a bunch of small fruit trees that arrived in the mail from a mail order fruit tree catalog company. These bugs covered the tiny trees where they split open the bark and lay their eggs. I had many trees die due to the irreparable damage.

This weekend I planted pole beans and cucumbers. I am late getting everything planted though, due to the wet (that’s an understatement) spring we have had.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment