greenapple2012


Magness Pears are ready
August 23, 2011, 9:09 pm
Filed under: Backyard farming, garden journal | Tags: ,

What’s happening in the garden now?  Well the weeds are in some spots as tall as my back!  2 weeks of no mowing or trimming and that’s how fast they grew.  August is the time chiggars are in full force so I don’t dare go out into those weeds.  I need to hire someone to help me mow.

As far as produce, I picked my 2nd box of pears, and that’s just grabbing the low-hanging-fruit.  There are at least 2 more boxes out there but I will get them later.

I have picked TONS of cucumbers this year, but my beans have been sparse.  Also I have picked tons of hot peppers.

Here is a good suggestion.  Yellow banana peppers are EASY to grow, while green sweet peppers are more difficult; I am not sure why.  Green peppers are so expensive in the store too!  So I have found that yellow banana peppers can be substituted in recipes for green and you won’t know the difference!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment