greenapple2012


Wire Cages
May 7, 2011, 8:25 am
Filed under: Backyard farming, Square Foot Gardening | Tags:

Here are a few of my Square Foot Gardens. Looks like the winter freezing and thawing have moved a few blocks in this first SFG.

Living in southern missouri, I am constantly battling critters who love to visit my garden and feast out like it’s a smorgasbord.  So the only way I can grow vegies like lettuce, cabbage, etc. is to protect them with cages.

My hubby made these last year and let me tell you how well they work. On the afternoon I was planting these coles (cabbage, broccoli) I took a break around 3 in the afternoon.  All SFGs had cages except one; I planned to go back out around 5 and finish planting, then I would place the cage.  Well, in the 2 hours I was in the house, a critter had invited himself in and eaten 6 of my cabbages in the ONE  SFG which was not protected with a cage! And, had eaten ALL my lettuce that I planted in a vertical A-frame (not pictured here).  Good thing my gut told me to keep back some lettuce in the greenhouse.

I would love to hear how you keep critters out of your garden.