greenapple2012


Sustainability – The Stinky Tree
June 9, 2011, 5:53 am
Filed under: Backyard farming, Garden calendar, sustainability | Tags: ,

Several years back I got 2 or 3 Chinese chestnut trees and planted them; “what the heck?” I thought, “maybe someday we will get nuts off these trees.

Well for the past several years we have been getting nuts.  Unlike many nut trees, the squirrels don’t confiscate the harvest before we do.  In fact, the squirrels don’t bother these nuts at all. Probably because of the porcupine-like outer coating the tree uses to protect the developing fruit in.

Every year at this time, in the evening, I notice an awful aroma waifing from these trees.  Not being a biologist I can’t tell you any more than at times it has gotten so bad that I try to hurry and get my chores finished so I can get away from the tree.  It only happens during the time it is pollenating  (like in the photo) and seems to be almost indetectable during the day but quite odiferous in the evening.

So my advice is  if you plant one of these beauties, plant them downwind!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment